The last media diary

Posted: October 16, 2010 in Uncategorized

My day began with me checking the UF Webmail. As soon as I got up, around 8:30, I turned on the laptop and logged on the Webmail. I was sure that there was nothing urgent, but I just wanted to double-check since I didn’t log on yesterday. There were several emails from professors and classmates with attached readings for next week’s class. I downloaded them. And there was link shared by another classmate. I clicked it and it led me to an article on the Wall Street Journal website. In the news story, the Mexican billionaire Carlos Slim stated that building business was more effective than “being Santa Clause” to fight poverty, and “we should leave a better country to our children. But it’s more important to leave better children to our country.” Ok, Mr. Slim, I got your point. But I wasn’t sure if Mr. Gates and Mr. Buffett did.

I started to feel hungry at 9:30, but there was nothing in my apartment ready-to-eat. Since I bought some taros yesterday, I googled for taro recipes. But apparently, to prepare a taro cuisine, one also needs to have chicken, or pork, or duck head, or fish head, or chocolate chips…Well, thank you Google, I guess I can just fry the taros with shallot.

I spent the rest of the morning and some time afternoon reading research papers and Googling to study content analysis of which I am supposed to a master before next Tuesday (Tuesday is the meeting day with my advisor). Since I am not actressing Mission Impossible IV, I guess I will just admit to my advisor shamelessly that in the world of content analysis, I am as blank as paper.

Around 16:00, my roommate and I started to fill online application for the 2011 Mars training program in China. We found this job information one day ago, and the application deadline is October 17 (but in Beijing time). Also, one has to find other two teammates to complete this application. So, for about an hour, both of us were posting recruitment information like crazy on the MarsChina forum.    

After dinner, my roommate and I watched two episodes of a Korean drama while waiting for others to reply to our posts. Korean dramas are usually very effective at easing tension since watching them requires no extra brainpower. Around 21:30, we finally began to get some replies. Hope we will meet the deadline!    

A small conclusion:

Writing media diary is kind of like self-monitoring. It makes me rethink the relationships between various media and myself. As different kinds of media have imbedded in our lives, I tended to take for granted that it is natural for us to spend all day on internet or on TV (I could watch TV all day in China when I had a TV…). After this week, it is a little scary to find how dependent I am on media (mainly Internet). Although media consumption is important and necessary in the modern world, media life should never equal to life in general. I will try to remember this experience and probably be more conscious in the future media usage.

Comments
  1. The 2011 Mars training program in China? Wow, is it really to go to Mars? (Or is it some kind of ad gimmick?)

    That is a very small analysis. I wonder, is there any difference between spending all day watching TV and spending all day surfing the Internet …

  2. I find myself coming to your blog more and more often to the point where my visits are almost daily now!

Leave a Reply

